31/31 Catching up. More Vernon Lee and Bram Stoker

stokerWhen beginning this blog, I intended to, however casually, add in my own illustrations for the stories rather than just grab a photo off of the internet. However, time, illness, and other constraints kept me from doing so consistently, so now I’m catching up. Here are two portraits I’ve drawn of Bram Stoker and Vernon Lee. They’ll be replacing the photos I had of the writers in vernonleeprevious posts, but I thought I’d post them here as well.

As for today’s story, having done these two illustrations, I’ll stick with Stoker and Lee. I was able to find a transcription of Lee’s Hauntings released in 1890.This isn’t just one story, but the entire book so if you can put it on your kindle, nook, iphone, whatever you have, it should do nicely.

Here’s another short story by Stoker: “In the Valley of the Shadow” available from P.M. Calduff’s informative site.

Apologies if I’ve not been accessing lesser known writers or those I haven’t covered yet. This second cold really took me down and I’ll be jumping back into the fray. One more week til Halloween!

Enjoy!

