31/31 "The Judge's House" by Bram Stoker and OTR adaptation

This is the first time since starting this blog that I’ve missed a day. Was sick two weeks ago. I think, as I’ve had a fever for the last three days, that it’s probably a mild case of flu. And as I haven’t been given license to lie around in bed and read to my heart’s content, I’ve taken advantage of it.

I was able to take good chunk out of Project Guiltpile, finishing The Magic Mountain and Barbara Ehrenreich’s Bright-Sided. More on those later when I’m a tad more lucid.

Today’s ghost story is “The Judge’s House” by Bram Stoker. This was one I didn’t care for: a first sentence introducing a protagonist named “Malcolm Malcolmsen” provides all the chilly foreshadowing of an Archie comic. There were rats, there were persnickety portraits, and a gloomy, old, unrentable house, but the end result was more meh-he-heh than Muh-hah-hah.

There’s a little more of the latter in this Old Time Radio adaptation from The Hall of Fantasy. This one is brought courtesy of mevio.com. Wait through the ten second ad, and you’ll get to it.

Now “He Who Follows Me”, also from the above is a spine tingling Scotch clog of a tale. You’ll never interpret footsteps in quite the same way again.

